The Interstate Driver’s License Compact is an agreement between the 45 participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions, including Drunk Driving (DUI and DWI) convictions.

Because of the Compact, if a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense (DUI and DWI) in another state, the driver’s home state will be advised. The type of action that the driver’s home state will take will vary from state to state.

The list of states, below, indicates whether a given state belongs to the Interstate Driver’s License Compact and if so, the year they joined. Wisconsin, Tennessee, Georgia, Massachusetts, and Michigan are all Non-compact states and don’t share Drunk Driving (DUI and DWI) conviction information.

If you have any questions about the Interstate Driver’s License Compact, or how it may apply in your case, please be sure to contact a qualified DUI or DWI lawyer in your area.

Alabama October 1981 Alabama 1966
Alaska Not a Member Alaska September 1986
Arizona January 1993 Arizona 1963
Arkansas January 1986 Arkansas 1969
California Not a Member California 1963
Colorado January 1982 Colorado 1965
Connecticut January 1981 Connecticut January 1993
Delaware February 1979 Delaware 1964
District of Columbia August 1980 District of Columbia November 1985
Florida October 1981 Florida 1967
Georgia February 1980 Georgia Not a Member
Hawaii January 1996 Hawaii 1971
Idaho October 1992 Idaho 1963
Illinois July 1984 Illinois 1963
Indiana January 1980 Indiana 1967
Iowa November 1980 Iowa 1965
Kansas January 1983 Kansas 1965
Kentucky December 1978 Kentucky August 1996
Louisiana November 1979 Louisiana 1968
Maine January 1982 Maine 1963
Maryland July 1979 Maryland 1978
Massachusetts December 1987 Massachusetts Not a Member
Michigan Not a Member Michigan Not a Member
Minnesota October 1978 Minnesota 1990
Mississippi March 1979 Mississippi 1962
Missouri October 1980 Missouri October 1985
Montana Not a Member Montana 1963
Nebraska January 1982 Nebraska 1963
Nevada February 1990 Nevada 1961
New Hampshire January 1982 New Hampshire October 1986
New Jersey July 1983 New Jersey 1966
New Mexico January 1985 New Mexico 1963
New York June 1982 New York 1965
North Carolina September 1980 North Carolina September 1993
North Dakota July 1980 North Dakota May 1986
Ohio January 1985 Ohio October 1987
Oklahoma July 1987 Oklahoma 1967
Oregon Not a Member Oregon 1963
Pennsylvania July 1979 Pennsylvania October 1994
Rhode Island April 1986 Rhode Island January 1987
South Carolina January 1981 South Carolina August 1987
South Dakota May 1980 South Dakota November 1987
Tennessee September 1984 Tennessee ’65/’97dropped out
Texas January 1982 Texas September 1993
Utah July 1985 Utah 1965
Vermont October 1985 Vermont October 1987
Virginia July 1980 Virginia 1963
Washington October 1993 Washington 1963
West Virginia July 1978 West Virginia July 1972
Wisconsin Not a Member Wisconsin Not a Member
Wyoming July 1987 Wyoming May 1987